Awards and Prizes

Clifford G. Shull prize announced

[Shull] Clifford G. Shull
At the inaugural meeting of the American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS) on June 23-27, 2002, NSSA President James Rhyne announced the establishment of the Clifford G. Shull Prize in Neutron Science of $5,000 to be awarded every two years. Shull shared the 1994 Nobel Prize for Neutron Scattering with Canadian researcher Bertram Brockhouse. Robert Shull, son of the Nobel prize winner and the leader of the Magnetic Materials Group at NIST presented a review of Cliff Shull’s life and accomplishments to the ACNS attendees. Nominations will be solicited by the prize committee starting next year with the winner of the first Shull Prize to be announced at the 2004 ACNS.

Julie Borchers, NSSA Secretary,