Awards and Prizes

2006 Clifford G. Shull Prize

[Shull logo][Carpenter]J.M. Carpenter is the recipient of the 2006 Clifford G. Shull Prize of the Neutron Scattering Society of America “For seminal contributions to the development of neutron sources and instrumentation that have had world-wide impact on neutron scattering across a broad range of scientific disciplines, culminating in the optimized design of the Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge.”

The Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) established the Clifford G. Shull Prize in Neutron Science to recognize outstanding research in neutron science and leadership promoting the North American neutron scattering community. The prize is named in honor of Prof. Clifford G. Shull, who received the Nobel Prize in 1994 with Prof. Bertram Brockhouse for seminal developments in the field of neutron science. The establishment of the prize was announced at the inaugural American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS) in 2002.

The prize and $5000 honorarium was awarded at the 2006 ACNS, St. Charles, IL, June 18-22, 2006 (