Awards and Prizes

Alexander Hollander Award

A Prize of $15,000, awarded every three years for outstanding contributions in biophysics, goes to Wayne A. Hendrickson, investigator, Howard Hughes Med. Inst., and professor, Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Columbia U. College of Physicians and Surgeons, NYC, USA. Hendrickson was chosen "for his contributions to macromolecular crystallography, in the development of robust methods of phasing and refinement, and in the determination of complex and biologically important structures." The award will be presented for the first time this year.