Commission on Crystallographic Computing Annual Report 2014

The main event proposed by the Commission for 2014 was a Computing School to be held at La Cité collégiale in Ottawa during the week before IUCr XXIII. However, due to low registration the School was cancelled.

A number of the microsymposia suggested by the Commission was adopted by the IPC for IUCr XXIII; several joint symposia with other Commissions were also adopted (see 2013 annual report)

A new Chair of the Commission (Dr Harry Powell, MRC Cambridge) was appointed at the General Assembly in Montreal. A Secretary (Dr Martin Lutz, Utrecht University) and webmaster (Dr Arie van der Lee, University of Montpellier) were also appointed.

Two new members of the Commission were appointed; Dr Patrick Mercier (National Rresearch Council, Ottawa) and Dr Lukas Palatinus (Institute of Physics, Prague). Dr Robert von Dreele stood down as Chairman and became a member of the Commission. Benedetta Carrozzini (CNR, Bari) and Jordi Rius (CSIC, Barcelona) retired as members of the Commission and became Consultants to the Commission.

The Commission was invited by Prof. B. Gopal of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India to hold a Computing School before IUCr XXIV (Hyderabad, India) in 2017. A local organising committee (Prof. Gopal, Dr Santosh Pajikar (Australian Synchrotron) and Dr Garib Murshudov) and a scientific programme committee (Dr Patrick Mercier (NRC Ottawa), Dr Arie van der Lee (University of Montpellier) and Dr Garib Murshudov) were appointed to oversee the organisation of the School.

To date the venue has been decided (subject to approval by the Institute's authorities) along with provisional dates (15th to 20th August 2017); a list of potential sponsors is being prepared. The aim is to be able to have preliminary advertising material in place ready for the AsCa meeting in Kolkata in December 2015. The two Committees will keep in contact via regular e-mail and videoconferencing. Prof. Sekar has been inivited to join the local organising Committee.

H.R. Powell, Chair