Bookmark and Share

American Crystallographic Association awards

Winners of Warren and Buerger Awards

[ACA logo]
During the ACA meeting in San Antonio the selection committee (P. Butler, chair, J. Johnson, I. Robinson, and B. Stec) announced that the 2003 Bertram E. Warren Diffraction Physics Award will be presented to Takeshi Egami (U. of Pennsylvania) and the selection committee (J. Kaduk, chair, R. Blessing, G. Bricogne and S. Doublie) announced that the 2003 Martin J. Buerger Award will be presented to James Ibers (Northwestern U.).

The awards will be presented at the ACA meeting in Greater Cincinnati (Northern KY) in July 2003. Symposia will be planned around the winners of the two awards.

ACA Peggy Etter Awards

In recent years, the ACA has provided student travel support through awards named after the late Peggy Etter. At the ACA Council Meeting in San Antonio, a decision was taken to formally implement two separate awards named after Peggy Etter that recognize her scientific accomplishments and her reputation as an outstanding mentor of students and junior colleagues. The Margaret C. Etter Early Career Award will recognize achievement and future potential among those at an early stage in their independent careers. The citation for the award and the guidelines for submitting nominations are available on the ACA web site. The Margaret C. Etter Student Lecturer Award will be presented to a small group of students each year who have been selected to give oral presentations at the ACA meeting. The award will be entirely independent of the ACA travel awards, which will remain open to students, postdoctorals and young scientists.

For further information visit

Lee Brammer, ACA Secretary
9 July 2009