Welcome to the
International Union of Crystallography

The IUCr is an International Scientific Union. Its objectives are to promote international cooperation in crystallography and to contribute to all aspects of crystallography, to promote international publication of crystallographic research, to facilitate standardization of methods, units, nomenclatures and symbols, and to form a focus for the relations of crystallography to other sciences. Read more »


  • New IUCr Executive Committee elected

    At the third session of the 26th IUCr General Assembly on 27 August 2023, Professor Santiago García-Granda (University of Oviedo, Spain) was elected as IUCr President, Professor Graciela Díaz del Delgado (Universidad de Los Andes, Mérida, Venezuela) as IUCr Vice-President and Professor Trevor Forsyth (Lund University, Sweden) as General Secretary and Treasurer. They will be joined on the IUCr Executive Committee by the Immediate Past President Dr Hanna Dabkowska (McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada); newly elected ordinary members Professor Susan Bourne (University of Cape Town, South Africa), Professor Atsushi Nakagawa (Osaka University, Japan) and Professor Maria Cristina Nonato (University of São Paulo, Brazil); and existing ordinary members Dr Angela Altomare (Institute of Crystallography – CNR, Bari, Italy), Dr Thomas Proffen (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN, USA) and Dr Manfred Weiss (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany).

  • African Crystallographic Association becomes fifth IUCr Regional Associate!

    The 26th IUCr General Assembly approved the African Crystallographic Association's application, presented by President Professor Delia Haynes, to become a Regional Associate of the IUCr. The mission of the African Crystallographic Association is to contribute to the advancement of science on the African continent via crystallography in all its aspects, including related topics concerning the structure and related properties of non-crystalline states, and to promote African cooperation in crystallography. For more information, see here.

  • Berlin to host 28th IUCr Congress in 2029

    At the 26th IUCr General Assembly, the IUCr 2029 team successfully presented the German Crystallographic Society's bid to host the 28th IUCr Congress in Berlin, Germany, in 2029. The Congress has only been held in Germany once before, when Hamburg played host in 1984. To see the many attractions of Berlin, watch this video.

The best in crystallographic research

Uniquely among International Scientific Unions, the IUCr publishes its own primary research journals. Acta Crystallographica Sections A–F, IUCrJ, Journal of Applied CrystallographyJournal of Synchrotron Radiation and IUCrData communicate the highest quality peer-reviewed research findings across the many scientific areas to which crystallography is relevant.

[Melbourne 2023 logo]

26th IUCr Congress

Melbourne, Australia
22-29 August 2023

Regional Associate meetings
Denver, CO, USA
7-12 July 2024

[AsCA logo]
Selangor, Malaysia
1-6 Dec 2024

[ECA logo]
Padova, Italy
26-31 August 2024

Montevideo, Uruguay
23-26 September 2024

IUCr Corporate Associates

Category 1
Category 1
Category 1
Category 1
Category 2
Category 2
Category 3
Category 3