Discussion List Archives

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[Fwd: March news]

This is a multi-part message in MIME format.

--Boundary_(ID_ZX120oUiYESFYoRIc9PsCA)
Content-type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-transfer-encoding: 7bit


-- 
Howard Flack        http://www.unige.ch/crystal/ahdf/Howard.Flack.html
Laboratoire de Cristallographie               Phone: 41 (22) 702 62 49
24 quai Ernest-Ansermet             mailto:Howard.Flack@cryst.unige.ch
CH-1211 Geneva 4, Switzerland                   Fax: 41 (22) 702 61 08

--Boundary_(ID_ZX120oUiYESFYoRIc9PsCA)
Content-type: message/rfc822

Return-path: <wendy@warr.com>
Received: from gate.unige.ch ([129.194.8.77])
 by mbx.unige.ch (PMDF V6.0-24 #44959)
 with ESMTP id <0GA500AJLEMQBW@mbx.unige.ch> for flack@mail.cryst.unige.ch
 (ORCPT Howard.Flack@cryst.unige.ch); Tue, 13 Mar 2001 19:13:38 +0100 (MET)
Received: from DIRECTORY-DAEMON.gate.unige.ch by gate.unige.ch
 (PMDF V6.0-24 #44959) id <0GA500J01EMQQA@gate.unige.ch> for
 flack@mail.cryst.unige.ch (ORCPT Howard.Flack@cryst.unige.ch); Tue,
 13 Mar 2001 19:13:38 +0100 (MET)
Received: from mailhost2.dircon.co.uk (mailhost2.dircon.co.uk [194.112.32.66])
 by gate.unige.ch (PMDF V6.0-24 #44959)
 with ESMTP id <0GA500J4LEMPI9@gate.unige.ch> for Howard.Flack@cryst.unige.ch;
 Tue, 13 Mar 2001 19:13:38 +0100 (MET)
Received: from 8047fr4z0c3r (th-en131-042.pool.dircon.co.uk [194.112.52.42])
	by mailhost2.dircon.co.uk (8.9.3/8.9.3) with SMTP id SAA43754; Tue,
 13 Mar 2001 18:07:12 +0000 (GMT)
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2001 18:06:26 +0000
From: Wendy Warr <wendy@warr.com>
Subject: Re: March news
To: Stephanie Larochefoucauld <icsti@dial.oleane.com>,
 Yuri M Arski <dir@viniti.msk.su>,
 Ulrich Korwitz <Ulrich.Korwitz@Uni-Koeln.De>,
 Timothy Ingoldsby <tingoldsby@aip.org>, Thomas Lahr <tom_lahr@usgs.gov>,
 Thierry Dujardin <thierry.dujardin@cea.fr>,
 Suzy Mouchet <mouchet@kb.inserm.fr>, Susan Knapp <sknapp@apa.org>,
 Shiny Huang <shiny@msg.ncl.edu.tw>, Sandra Augustine <saugustine@cas.org>,
 Ruggero S Giliarevsky <giliarevski@viniti.msk.su>,
 Ronald Wigington <rwigingt@columbus.rr.com>,
 Roger Bowes <roger.bowes@aslib.com>, R Paul Ryan <ryan@dtic.mil>,
 Nigel Johnson <n.p.johnson@elsevier.nl>,
 Nathalie Dusoulier <nathalie.dusoulier@wanadoo.fr>,
 Monique Letranchant <monique.letranchant@technologie.gouv.fr>,
 Miguel A Virasoro <virasoro@ictp.trieste.it>,
 Michael Dadd <mndadd@zoorec.demon.co.uk>,
 Michael Breaks <m.l.breaks@hw.ac.uk>, Meg Bellinger <bellingm@oclc.org>,
 Matthew Toussaint <mtoussant@cas.org>,
 Martin Van Der Walt <msvdw@maties.sun.ac.za>,
 Martin Tanke <m.tanke@elsevier.nl>, Mark Rowse <mrowse@ingenta.com>,
 Marie Wallin <mw@lib.kth.se>, Marc Guichard <guichard@inist.fr>,
 Malcolm Smith <malcolm.smith@mail.bl.uk>, M H Dacombe <execsec@iucr.org>,
 Linda Beebe <lbeebe@apa.org>, Lex Lefebvre <lefebvre@stm.nl>,
 Larry Kohler <larry@icsu.org>, Kurt Molholm <kmolholm@dtic.mil>,
 Koos Louw <jalouw@eagle.mrc.ac.za>, Kevin Bouley <kabouley@nerac.com>,
 Kent Smith <smith@lhc.nlm.nih.gov>,
 Keith Reynard <keith1@wilkicon.demon.co.uk>,
 Kathleen Cass <codata@dial.oleane.com>,
 John W Jost <johnwjost@compuserve.com>, John A Hearty <heartyj@oclc.org>,
 Joan Thorne <jthorne@york.biosis.org>, Jim Ashling <jashling@iee.org.uk>,
 Jacques Michel <jmichel@epo.org>, Ian Butterworth <i.butterworth@ic.ac.uk>,
 Hsien-Chun Meng <mhc@mail.stic.gov.tw>,
 Howard Flack <Howard.Flack@cryst.unige.ch>, Glen Sycor <gsecor@ybp.com>,
 Gladys Cotter <gladys_cotter@usgs.gov>, Gerard Giroud <ggiroud@epo.org>,
 Gabriela Lopes da Silva <g.l.silva@fct.mct.pt>,
 Fumihiko Kikuchi <fukiku@tokyo.jst.go.jp>, Francoise Pelle <pelle@issn.org>,
 Etienne Fleuret <fleuret@inist.fr>, Elliot Siegel <SIEGEL@NLM.NIH.GOV>,
 Ellen Croes <ecroes@nl.swetsblackwell.com>,
 Elizabeth Buffum <ebuffum@STI.NASA.GOV>, Edward Kennedy <hke@acpub.duke.edu>,
 Eamon Fennessey <efennessy@worldnet.att.net>,
 Dietrich Gotze <goetze@springer.de>, Dick Kaser <nfais@nfais.org>,
 Derk Haank <d.haank@elsevier.nl>, Denise Pawlik <d.pawlik@iaea.org>,
 David Weisgerber <dweisgerb@cas.org>, David Russon <David.Russon@bl.uk>,
 David Lide <drlide@post.harvard.edu>, David Lee <d.lee@univ-mulhouse.fr>,
 David Brown <dbrown@ingenta.com>, Daniel Wilde <duwilde@nerac.com>,
 Claus Montonen <claus.montonen@Helsinki.fi>,
 Christa Brulet <christa.brulet@cea.fr>,
 Brian Thackray <brian.thackray@aslib.com>,
 Bernard Dumouchel <bernard.dumouchel@nrc.ca>,
 Ben Fouche <bf@maties.sun.ac.za>, Barrie Stern <barriestern@hotmail.com>,
 Stephanie de La Rochefoucauld <splaroche@aol.com>
Message-id: <017a01c0abe8$75e9e8c0$e3f7fea9@8047fr4z0c3r>
MIME-version: 1.0
X-MIMEOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V5.00.2919.6600
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2919.6600
Content-type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
Content-transfer-encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-priority: Normal
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
References: <MABBJCMBHGDPMFEFFKGOKEHOCAAA.icsti@dial.oleane.com>

Barry,

The CatchWord/Ingenta "merger" is discussed in Information World Review,
March issue, page 8. The Financial Times described it as an 11.2 million
pound acquisition. From the financial and corpoprate structuring point of
view, Ingenta has acquired CatchWord but they are calling it a merger from
the point of view of running the businesses. No redundancies. Complementary
skills. New Ingenta claims it has 65% of the current market. Sally Morris
says it is beneficial and she reportedly predicts a future alliance with ISI
or BL or AN Other.

Wendy

Wendy

Wendy

Dr. Wendy A. Warr
Wendy Warr & Associates, 6 Berwick Court
Holmes Chapel, Cheshire, CW4 7HZ, England
Tel/fax +44 (0) 1477 533837
wendy@warr.com  http://www.warr.com
----- Original Message -----
From: "Stephanie Larochefoucauld" <icsti@dial.oleane.com>
To: "Yuri M Arski" <dir@viniti.msk.su>; "Wendy Warr" <wendy@warr.com>;
"Ulrich Korwitz" <Ulrich.Korwitz@Uni-Koeln.De>; "Timothy Ingoldsby"
<tingoldsby@aip.org>; "Thomas Lahr" <tom_lahr@usgs.gov>; "Thierry Dujardin"
<thierry.dujardin@cea.fr>; "Suzy Mouchet" <mouchet@kb.inserm.fr>; "Susan
Knapp" <sknapp@apa.org>; "Shiny Huang" <shiny@msg.ncl.edu.tw>; "Sandra
Augustine" <saugustine@cas.org>; "Ruggero S Giliarevsky"
<giliarevski@viniti.msk.su>; "Ronald Wigington" <rwigingt@columbus.rr.com>;
"Roger Bowes" <roger.bowes@aslib.com>; "R Paul Ryan" <ryan@dtic.mil>; "Nigel
Johnson" <n.p.johnson@elsevier.nl>; "Nathalie Dusoulier"
<nathalie.dusoulier@wanadoo.fr>; "Monique Letranchant"
<monique.letranchant@technologie.gouv.fr>; "Miguel A Virasoro"
<virasoro@ictp.trieste.it>; "Michael Dadd" <mndadd@zoorec.demon.co.uk>;
"Michael Breaks" <m.l.breaks@hw.ac.uk>; "Meg Bellinger" <bellingm@oclc.org>;
"Matthew Toussaint" <mtoussant@cas.org>; "Martin Van Der Walt"
<msvdw@maties.sun.ac.za>; "Martin Tanke" <m.tanke@elsevier.nl>; "Mark Rowse"
<mrowse@ingenta.com>; "Marie Wallin" <mw@lib.kth.se>; "Marc Guichard"
<guichard@inist.fr>; "Malcolm Smith" <malcolm.smith@mail.bl.uk>; "M H
Dacombe" <execsec@iucr.org>; "Linda Beebe" <lbeebe@apa.org>; "Lex Lefebvre"
<lefebvre@stm.nl>; "Larry Kohler" <larry@icsu.org>; "Kurt Molholm"
<kmolholm@dtic.mil>; "Koos Louw" <jalouw@eagle.mrc.ac.za>; "Kevin Bouley"
<kabouley@nerac.com>; "Kent Smith" <smith@lhc.nlm.nih.gov>; "Keith Reynard"
<keith1@wilkicon.demon.co.uk>; "Kathleen Cass" <codata@dial.oleane.com>;
"John W Jost" <johnwjost@compuserve.com>; "John A Hearty"
<heartyj@oclc.org>; "Joan Thorne" <jthorne@york.biosis.org>; "Jim Ashling"
<jashling@iee.org.uk>; "Jacques Michel" <jmichel@epo.org>; "Ian Butterworth"
<i.butterworth@ic.ac.uk>; "Hsien-Chun Meng" <mhc@mail.stic.gov.tw>; "Howard
Flack" <Howard.Flack@cryst.unige.ch>; "Glen Sycor" <gsecor@ybp.com>; "Gladys
Cotter" <gladys_cotter@usgs.gov>; "Gerard Giroud" <ggiroud@epo.org>;
"Gabriela Lopes da Silva" <g.l.silva@fct.mct.pt>; "Fumihiko Kikuchi"
<fukiku@tokyo.jst.go.jp>; "Francoise Pelle" <pelle@issn.org>; "Etienne
Fleuret" <fleuret@inist.fr>; "Elliot Siegel" <SIEGEL@NLM.NIH.GOV>; "Ellen
Croes" <ecroes@nl.swetsblackwell.com>; "Elizabeth Buffum"
<ebuffum@STI.NASA.GOV>; "Edward Kennedy" <hke@acpub.duke.edu>; "Eamon
Fennessey" <efennessy@worldnet.att.net>; "Dietrich Gotze"
<goetze@springer.de>; "Dick Kaser" <nfais@nfais.org>; "Derk Haank"
<d.haank@elsevier.nl>; "Denise Pawlik" <d.pawlik@iaea.org>; "David
Weisgerber" <dweisgerb@cas.org>; "David Russon" <David.Russon@bl.uk>; "David
Lide" <drlide@post.harvard.edu>; "David Lee" <d.lee@univ-mulhouse.fr>;
"David Brown" <dbrown@ingenta.com>; "Daniel Wilde" <duwilde@nerac.com>;
"Claus Montonen" <claus.montonen@Helsinki.fi>; "Christa Brulet"
<christa.brulet@cea.fr>; "Brian Thackray" <brian.thackray@aslib.com>;
"Bernard Dumouchel" <bernard.dumouchel@nrc.ca>; "Ben Fouche"
<bf@maties.sun.ac.za>; "Barrie Stern" <barriestern@hotmail.com>; "Stephanie
de La Rochefoucauld" <splaroche@aol.com>
Sent: Tuesday, March 13, 2001 3:08 PM
Subject: March news


>
> A message from the Executive Director of ICSTI, Barry Mahon:
>
>
> Stephanie de La Rochefoucauld, Administrator
> ICSTI
> 51, boulevard de Montmorency
> 75016 Paris, FRANCE
> Tel: 33 1 45 25 65 92  Fax: 33 1 42 15 12 62
> ********************************************


--Boundary_(ID_ZX120oUiYESFYoRIc9PsCA)--

Reply to: [list | sender only]
International Union of Crystallography

Scientific Union Member of the International Council for Science (admitted 1947). Member of CODATA, the ICSU Committee on Data. Member of ICSTI, the International Council for Scientific and Technical Information. Partner with UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in the International Year of Crystallography 2014.

ICSU Scientific Freedom Policy

The IUCr observes the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.