International Union of Crystallography

Commission on Synchrotron and XFEL Radiation

Commission web page



To see a graphical representation of former members, click here.

Terms of Reference

The Commission on Synchrotron Radiation was formally established at the Bordeaux General Assembly in 1990, with the following terms of reference.

  • Crystallography of small molecules and large molecules in the areas of very high resolution, large unit cells, microcrystals, reduced radiation damage, kinetic crystallography and multi-wavelength anomalous-dispersion phasing.
  • Fibre diffraction and small-angle scattering including time-resolved studies.
  • X-ray topography
  • EXAFS (extended X-ray absorption fine structure).
  • Diffuse scattering
  • X-ray optics and detectors of particular relevance to the utilization of the unique properties of synchrotron radiation.
  • Magnetic scattering.
  • High pressure diffraction
The Commission will serve several functions as follows.
  • To assist in the organization of relevant sessions at IUCr Congresses and other meetings that will catalyze developments and innovations in the subject.
  • To catalogue information on the available synchrotron-radiation sources and the instrumentation relevant to the above topics. This information will be made freely available and so improve the future planning, use and effectiveness of the global resources available for the community of crystallographers and diffractionists represented by the IUCr.
  • To provide a forum for comparing and contrasting the policies of the various centralized synchrotron facilities.
  • To facilitate scientific and technical studies amied at improving standards of sources, equipment and procedures.
  • To try to provide a mechanism whereby potential users of synchrotron radiation from anywhere in the world can be directed to the appropriate facility and helped with gaining access there.