International Union of Crystallography

Commission on Mathematical and Theoretical Crystallography

Commission web page


  • M.I. Aroyo (Interim co-Chair, Spain)
  • M. Nespolo (Interim co-Chair, France)
  • V.A. Blatov (Russia)
  • D. Gratias (France)
  • J. Hadermann (Belgium)
  • G. McColm (USA)
  • H.B. Napolitano (Brazil)
  • R. Oishi-Tomiyasu (Japan)
  • M.L.A.N. De Las Penas (Philippines)
  • Wei Ren (People's Republic of China)
  • L. Suescun (Uruguay)
  • P. Zeiner (Malaysia)


  • J.-G. Eon (Brazil)
  • E.E. Rams (Cuba)
  • S. Hyde (Australia)
  • V. Kurlin (UK)
  • D.B. Litvin (USA)
  • K. Momma (Japan)
  • D. Pradhan (India)
  • D. Proserpio (Italy)
  • B. Souvignier (The Netherlands)
  • B. Stöger (Austria)
To see a graphical representation of former members, click here.

Terms of reference

Approved by action of the IUCr General Assembly, 25 August 2005
  • To strengthen links and interactions among crystallographers, mathematicians and theoretical physicists and chemists, and to promote a common language in these fields.
  • To promote the presence at IUCr meetings of scientists working in the fields of mathematics, geometry, topology, and symmetry.
  • To strengthen the recognition of crystallography as an interdisciplinary science in those fields where nowadays it is considered only to be a technique.
  • To promote the publication of mathematical and theoretical papers in the journals of the IUCr.
  • To encourage the development and dissemination of mathematical and theoretical methods, software and databases for the solution of crystallographic problems.
  • To promote and organize symposia of interest to mathematical and theoretical crystallographers during IUCr Congresses and meetings of Regional Associates, in cooperation with other Commissions of the Union.
  • To promote and organize meetings, workshops and schools in collaboration with other Commissions particularly targeting post-graduate students and young scientists needing and willing to complete their education in crystallography.