International Union of Crystallography


The scientific work of the IUCr is conducted through its Commissions.

Each Commission page contains Terms of Reference, details of members and consultants and links to annual and triennial reports. A link is also provided to the web pages maintained by the Commission (where available).

Contacting Commissions

Each non-publishing Commission has a global email address. Emails sent to this address will go to all members and consultants of the Commission and to the member of the Executive Committee with special responsibility for the Commission. Those applying to the Meeting Support Committee for support of a meeting and seeking support of a Commission for their application should contact the relevant Chair.

Commission Email address of Chair Global email address (i.e. all members and consultants) Executive Committee member acting as liaison (pending update)
Aperiodic Crystals Masaki Takata
Biological Macromolecules Jenny Martin
Crystal Growth and Characterization of Materials Hanna Dabkowska
Crystallographic Computing Thomas Proffen
Crystallographic Nomenclature* Angela Altomare
Crystallographic Teaching Santiago Garcia-Granda
Crystallography in Art and Cultural Heritage Manfred Weiss
Crystallography of Materials Manfred Weiss
Diffraction Microstructure Imaging Santiago Garcia-Granda
Electron Crystallography Santiago Garcia-Granda
High Pressure Masaki Takata
Inorganic and Mineral Structures Angela Altomare
Magnetic Structures Thomas Proffen
Mathematical and Theoretical Crystallography Sven Lidin
Neutron Scattering Thomas Proffen
NMR Crystallography and Related Methods Santiago Garcia-Granda
Powder Diffraction Graciela Diaz de Delgado
Quantum Crystallography Bo Brummerstedt Iversen
Small-Angle Scattering Jenny Martin
Structural Chemistry Angela Altomare
Synchrotron and XFEL Radiation Masaki Takata
XAFS Sven Lidin

*Members of the Commission on Crystallographic Nomenclature are ex officio. Emails should be addressed to the Chair.