International Union of Crystallography

Commission on Electron Crystallography

Commission web page



To see a graphical representation of former members, click here.

Terms of Reference

At the Montreal Congress in 1957 the Commission on Electron Diffraction was established, with the following terms of reference:

  • To assist the Programme Committee in organizing electron-diffraction sessions at Congresses and conferences of the Union
  • To recommend special conferences and meetings on electron diffraction
  • To promote scientific exchange between countries in the field of electron diffraction
  • To provide a source of expert assistance to the other Commissions of the Union on matters dealing with electron diffraction
  • To cooperate with other international bodies interested in the various aspects of electron diffraction

At the Osaka Congress in 2008 the name of the Commission was changed to Commission on Electron Crystallography, with the following terms of reference:

  • To strengthen links and interactions among electron crystallographers, and to promote a common language
  • To promote the presence at IUCr meetings of scientists working in the field of electron crystallography
  • To promote the publication of electron crystallography papers in the journals of the IUCr
  • To encourage the development and dissemination of mathematical and theoretical methods, software and databases for the solution of electron crystallographic problems
  • To promote the use of precise measurements based upon electron scattering
  • To promote and organize symposia of interest to electron crystallographers during IUCr Congresses and meetings of Regional Associates, in cooperation with other Commissions of the Union
  • To promote and organize meetings, workshops and schools in electron crystallography, particularly targeting post-graduate students and young scientists

Electron crystallography is the branch of science that uses electron scattering to study the structure of matter.