Discussion List Archives

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[SA_scat] NSSA announces election of the 2010 NSSA Fellows

I thought I would post this notice as subscribers will recognise one or
two of these new Fellows as practitioners of small-angle scattering or
reflection techniques.


Congratulations to all.


Sa_scat administrator




The Neutron Scattering Society of America is pleased

to announce the election as Fellows of the Society of:


John D. Axe, Brookhaven National Laboratory

For his seminal scientific studies of incommensurate and commensurate
structural phase transitions, as well as his service to the US and
international neutron community.


Collin Broholm, Johns Hopkins University 

[2010 Sustained Research Prize recipient]

For outstanding neutron scattering studies of correlated electron
physics in magnets, metals and superconductors, and for science-driven
development of neutron scattering techniques.


Robert Golub, North Carolina State University

For pioneering research in studies of the neutron electric dipole
moment, for development of the super thermal technique for production of
ultra cold neutrons, and for development of new methods in neutron spin
echo research.


Charles Han, Chinese Academy of Sciences

For his sustained record of accomplishment in developing and applying
neutron scattering methods to elucidate the interactions that govern the
structure and phase behavior of polymer blends and solutions.


Thomas M. Holden, Northern Stress Technologies, Canada

For his pioneering studies in the field of engineering diffraction and
development of methods that have greatly enhanced the industrial impact
of neutron scattering.


Jeffrey W. Lynn, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For seminal studies of the colossal magneto resistance effect and his
many contributions to our understanding of the interplay of magnetism
and superconductivity.


Charles F. Majkrzak, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For fundamental contributions to the development of neutron


Thom E. Mason, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

For scientific, technical, and administrative leadership that was
essential to realize the Spallation Neutron Source.


Stephen E. Nagler, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

For seminal contributions to research in quantum magnetism and
correlated electron systems.


Dan A. Neumann, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For outstanding research using inelastic and quasielastic neutron
scattering on carboncontaining

and other diverse materials and exceptional leadership in serving and
expanding the American neutron community.


David L. Price, CNRS, Orleans, France

For his seminal contributions on the structure and dynamics of liquids
and glasses and leadership role in the field of neutron scattering.


James J. Rhyne, Los Alamos National Laboratory

For extraordinary research on magnetic materials and thin films and
outstanding leadership and support of major U.S. neutron facilities and
research opportunities.


Jill Trewhella, University of Sydney, Australia

For her landmark experiments using small angle neutron scattering to
study the structure of biological macromolecules in solution and service
to the neutron scattering community.


Wen-li Wu, NIST Center for Neutron Research

For important contributions to a broad range of problems in polymer
science and in its industrial application using neutron scattering.


Through the NSSA Fellowship Program, the Society recognizes members who
have made

significant contributions to the neutron scattering community in North
America in one or more

of the following areas: advances in knowledge through original research
and publication;

innovative contributions in the application of neutron scattering;
contributions to the promotion

or development of neutron scattering techniques; and service and
participation in the activities

of the NSSA or neutron community. Each year, election to Fellowship of
the Neutron Scattering

Society of America is limited to no more than one half of one percent of
the membership.

Additionally, recipients of the Clifford G. Shull Prize and Sustained
Research Prize are

automatically named Fellows of the Society. Election as NSSA Fellow
recognizes outstanding

contributions to neutron scattering and the North American neutron
scattering community.


The new Fellows will be recognized at the 2010 American Conference on

Scattering to be held in Ottawa, Canada, June 26-30, 2010.



Scanned by iCritical.

sa_scat mailing list

Reply to: [list | sender only]
International Union of Crystallography

Scientific Union Member of the International Science Council (admitted 1947). Member of CODATA, the ISC Committee on Data. Partner with UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in the International Year of Crystallography 2014.

International Science Council Scientific Freedom Policy

The IUCr observes the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.