Discussion List Archives

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

From The ISOC Forum, Vol. 5, No. 06 JUNE 1999

At a meeting in Berlin on 27 May, the initial board of the
Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)
called its Domain Names Supporting Organizations (DNSO) into
being and accepted an application to establish a Protocol
Supporting Organization (PSO). The board offered provisional
recognition of six self-organized constituency organizations
representing the registries for country code Top Level
Domains, commercial and business entities, the registries
for generic Top Level Domains, intellectual property
interests, Internet Service Providers and other providers of
Internet connectivity, and registrars. The initial board
also passed a resolution welcoming the PSO's formation and
asked its prospective members to prepare a memorandum of
understanding formalizing the PSO's status. It is hoped this
memorandum will be ready by the July meeting of the Internet
Engineering Task Force. For more information, see

The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers
(ICANN) announced on 25 May that eight additional applicant
companies have met its accreditation criteria and, upon
completion  of the ongoing testbed program, will be
accredited to compete as registrars in the .com, .net, and
.org domains. They are:

- ABACUS America, Inc./A+Net
- Advanced Systems Consulting, Inc.
- CASDNS, Inc.
- Domain Bank, Inc.
- Marvin Enterprises, Inc./Global Knowledge Group
- The Name-It Corporation/Advanced Internet Technologies,
- NetNation Communications, Inc.
- PSI-Japan, Inc.

The five companies accredited to participate in the testbed
phase are America Online, CORE (Internet Council of
Registrars), France Telecom/Oléane, Melbourne IT, and
register.com. For more on the testbed registrars, see

The 29 other applicant companies that have met ICANN's
accreditation criteria and that will be accredited to
compete as registrars upon completion of the testbed phase
are 9NetAvenue, A  Technology Company, Active ISP,
Alldomains.com, All West Communications, American Domain
Name Registry, AT&T, Domain Direct, DomainRegistry.com,
eNom, Inc., InfoAvenue, InfoNetworks, InfoRamp, Interactive
Telecom Network, Interdomain, Internet Domain Registrars,
interQ Incorporated, MS Intergate, NameSecure.com,
Name.Space Inc., NetBenefit, NetNames, Nominalia, Port
Information System AB, RCN, Telepartner AS, Verio, Virtual
Internet, and WebTrends. For more on these companies, see

More details on the announcement can be found at

A U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals has upheld that it is
unconstitutional to restrict the exportation of computer
encryption codes, as it violates the right to freedom of
expression. The 9th federal appellate circuit court, which
covers nine Western states, found that encryption codes are
an expression of scientific ideas. The 6th U.S. Circuit
Court of Appeals, in the Midwest, is also preparing to
review judgment on this issue. (Techserver 11 May 1999). For
more information see

The Internet Architecture Board (IAB) is pleased to announce
the appointment of Erik Huizer as chair of the Internet
Research Task Force (IRTF). Huizer replaces Abel Weinrib,
who has decided to step down from the position. The new
chair will occupy the position for two years starting in
September 1999. Huizer is currently managing director of the
SURFnet ExpertiseCentrum bv, a company based in the
Netherlands that does network development, design, planning,
support, training, and consulting for an international
client base. He received his Ph.D. in Science and Technology from
Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands.

The proceedings of the 44th Internet Engineering Task Force
(IETF) meeting is now available online at
http://www/ietf.org/proceedings/99mar/index.html. A CD-ROM
and print version of the proceedings will be available

Howard Flack        http://www.unige.ch/crystal/ahdf/Howard.Flack.html
Laboratoire de Cristallographie               Phone: 41 (22) 702 62 49
24 quai Ernest-Ansermet             mailto:Howard.Flack@cryst.unige.ch
CH-1211 Geneva 4, Switzerland                   Fax: 41 (22) 702 61 08

Reply to: [list | sender only]
International Union of Crystallography

Scientific Union Member of the International Council for Science (admitted 1947). Member of CODATA, the ICSU Committee on Data. Member of ICSTI, the International Council for Scientific and Technical Information. Partner with UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in the International Year of Crystallography 2014.

ICSU Scientific Freedom Policy

The IUCr observes the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.