Discussion List Archives

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: Report on CODATA 2002 conference

  • To: Multiple recipients of list <epc-l@iucr.org>
  • Subject: Re: Report on CODATA 2002 conference
  • From: Brian McMahon <bm@iucr.org>
  • Date: Wed, 16 Oct 2002 10:24:30 +0100 (BST)
For the record a summary of the CODATA General Assembly is also appended. I
am sending this just to the Electronic Publishing Committee and to the Chair
of the Database Committee (with copy to execsec): please feel free to refer
any other interested readers to the epc-l archive page.


23rd CODATA General Assembly, Montreal, Canada, October 4-5 2002

Beyond the administrative affairs of CODATA, the main function of the
General Assembly is the appointment or re-confirmation of Task Groups
or Working Groups charged with furthering the objectives of CODATA. Because
financial support may be provided, and because the groups acts as a visible
face of CODATA activities, the groups report to and are elected by the
General Assembly. The Task Groups approved by the 23rd General Assembly for
the period 2002-2004 are as follows (those marked with an asterisk are
continuations of existing Task Groups):

 - Fundamental Constants *
 - Global Species Data Networks *
 - Data Sources in Asian-Oceanic Countries *
 - Data, Information and Visualisation *
 - Natural Gas Hydrates *
 - Data Management and Virtual Laboratories *
 - Biological Collection Data Access
 - Preservation and Archiving of Scientific and Technical Data

The Preservation and Archiving Task Group is a continuation of a Working
Group established at the last General Assembly; based in South Africa it has 
specific concerns about preservation and access in the developing world. The 
Biological Collection Data Access Task Group is also a continuation of an
existing Working Group. A proposal was advanced for a new Working Group on
ethics, and continued work arising from the Task Group on standardisation of
physicochemical property electronic datafiles was invited within the
structure of a Working Group.

The Officers of CODATA through the next General Assembly are

   President            Shuichi Iwata (Japan; 2002-2006)
   Vice-Presidents      Alexei Gvishiani (Russia; 2002-2006)
                        Honglie Sun (China; 2002-2006)
   Secretary General    Paul Mezey (Canada; 2002-2004)
   Treasurer            Jean-Jacques Royer (France; 2000-2004)
   Past President       John Rumble (USA; 2002-2004)
   Ordinary Members (2002-2004):
                        Robert Chen (USA; environmental geography)
                        Jean Garnier (IUPAB; biology/bioinformatics)
                        Horst Kremers (Germany; information theory)
                        Takashi Kunasawa (Japan; biophysics/molecular biology)
                        Krishan Lal (India; metrology)
                        Steve Roussouw (South Africa; communications)
                        Gordon Wood (Canada; physics)
                        Vladimir Yungman (Russia; thermodynamics)

Thailand, Ukraine and the Czech Republic were welcomed as new National
Members to the CODATA family. The German National Committee has lost its
funding source, and is actively looking for new sponsors to pay the
membership dues. Concern was expressed at the failure of certain National
members to pay dues within a reasonable time, and the Executive Committee
was charged with investigating appropriate changes to the Constitution to
permit the levying of appropriate sacnctions if required. A resolution was
passed requesting the Executive Committee to explore ways of attracting
young scientists to CODATA meetings, by such means as travel grants and
poster prizes.

The successful launch of the peer-reviewed Data Science Journal was noted.

Reply to: [list | sender only]
International Union of Crystallography

Scientific Union Member of the International Council for Science (admitted 1947). Member of CODATA, the ICSU Committee on Data. Member of ICSTI, the International Council for Scientific and Technical Information. Partner with UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in the International Year of Crystallography 2014.

ICSU Scientific Freedom Policy

The IUCr observes the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.