Discussion List Archives

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[SA_scat] Call for Nominations for the 2012 Guinier Prize

To all small-angle scatterers:

Please consider possible nominations for the Guinier prize (see notice below) and submit nominations to both Elliot Gilbert and myself by July 1st:


The SAS-2012 Organizing Committee and the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) Commission on Small-angle Scattering will present a prize of US$5000 in honour of the great scientist and 'father' of small-angle scattering Professor A. Guinier at SAS-2012. The Guinier prize is given for lifetime achievement, a major breakthrough or an outstanding contribution to the field of small-angle scattering.

Previous recipients of the Guinier prize: 2002 - Michael Agamalian (ORNL, Oak Ridge, TN, USA); 2006 - Heinrich B. Stuhrmann (GKSS Forschungszentrum Geesthacht, Germany) and 2009 - Vittorio Luzzati (Centre de Génétique Moléculaire, CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France)

Nominations for the 2012 Guinier prize are now being sought. A nomination should contain: (i) justification for the nomination (max one page), (ii) a brief CV for the nominated person and (iii) a list of major publications.

Nominations should be sent by e-mail by July 1st, 2012 with the subject heading "Guinier Prize" to:
Elliot Gilbert, Chair of the SAS-2012 Organizing Committee, elliot.gilbert@ansto.gov.au<mailto:elliot.gilbert@ansto.gov.au>
Andrew Allen, Chair of the IUCr SAS Commission, andrew.allen@nist.gov<mailto:andrew.allen@nist.gov>

The prize jury will be composed of 6 members, 3 representatives each from the SAS-2012 Organizing Committee and of the IUCr SAS commission. The Guinier prize will be presented at a special ceremony during the SAS-2012 conference in Sydney.

Also see:  www.sas2012.com/Grants.htm<http://www.sas2012.com/Grants.htm>

The SAS-2012 Organizing Committee and the IUCr SAS Commission
Andrew Allen
Chair, IUCr Commission on Small-angle Scattering

Dr. Andrew J. Allen, Physicist
U.S. Department of Commerce
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Material Measurement Laboratory
Building 223, Room B204
100 Bureau Drive, Stop 6520
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-6520
Phone: 301-975-5982
FAX: 301-975-5334
E-mail: andrew.allen@nist.gov<mailto:andrew.allen@nist.gov>

Scanned by iCritical.

sa_scat mailing list

Reply to: [list | sender only]
International Union of Crystallography

Scientific Union Member of the International Science Council (admitted 1947). Member of CODATA, the ISC Committee on Data. Partner with UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in the International Year of Crystallography 2014.

International Science Council Scientific Freedom Policy

The IUCr observes the basic policy of non-discrimination and affirms the right and freedom of scientists to associate in international scientific activity without regard to such factors as ethnic origin, religion, citizenship, language, political stance, gender, sex or age, in accordance with the Statutes of the International Council for Science.