The Crystallographic Community

Molecular Structure: Chemical Reactivity and Biological Activity

Beijing, China

15 September - 21 September 1986

An international symposium organized with assistance from the IUCr Commission on Small Molecules, the Chinese National Committee of Crystallography and the Chinese Chemical Society.

The programme included sessions on structures of biological interest ranging from small peptide hormones to the 50S ribosomal subunit, chemical reactivity (e.g. crystal surfaces) and crystal properties (e.g. electron distributions and packing energies). The Meeting was attended by over 250 participants (about half from outside China), including three Nobel Laureates (Herbert Hauptman, Dorothy Hodgkin and William Lipscomb).

from Report of the IUCr Executive Committee for 1986, Acta Cryst. (1988), A44, 81-103 .