The Crystallographic Community

North African Crystallographic Conference 2010

Casablanca, Morocco

23 November - 26 November 2010

The first North African crystallographic conference was held in Casablanca in late November 2010. Around 250 participants from 27 countries participated in the event; notable among them were IUCr President Sine Larsen, ECA President Santiago Garcia Granada, Claude Lecomte, Mitchell Guss and Judith Kelly.

The Executive Committee of the Moroccan Association of Crystallography (AMC) decided in 2009 to organise the first North African Crystallographic Conference. The AMC, founded in 2002, has been active in organising regional biennial schools of crystallography, and in 2007 organised the 24th European Crystallographic Meeting (ECM24) in Marrakech. Other Associations of Crystallography in North Africa (e.g. Algeria, Egypt, Tunisia) have also been active in promoting crystallography within their countries. This event was organised conjointly by AMC and Faculty of Sciences Ben M'Sik - University Hassan II Mohammedia-Casablanca. Its aim was to contribute to the development of crystallography education and research in North Africa. It provided an opportunity for North African scientists and their colleagues from all parts of the world to meet, discuss and share their research initiatives and findings, and explore new avenues for stimulating new collaborations.