Welcome to the
International Union of Crystallography

The IUCr is an International Scientific Union. Its objectives are to promote international cooperation in crystallography and to contribute to all aspects of crystallography, to promote international publication of crystallographic research, to facilitate standardization of methods, units, nomenclatures and symbols, and to form a focus for the relations of crystallography to other sciences. Read more »


  • IUCr mourns the loss of Queen Elizabeth II

    The IUCr was saddened to hear about the death of Queen Elizabeth II. Her devotion and consistent dedication in her role as head of state, right up to her death, are as extraordinary as they are inspiring. Whilst the IUCr is not of Royal Charter, the Queen has featured several times in recognising crystallography.

  • Distinguished Lectures on Quantum Crystallography and Complementary Fields

    The next two online lectures in the monthly series of Distinguished Lectures on Quantum Crystallography and Complementary Fields will be presented on Thursday 29 September 2022 at 16:00 CET.

  • Call for nominations for the thirteenth Ewald Prize

    The IUCr invites your nominations for the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. Nominations for the thirteenth Prize, which will be presented at the Melbourne Congress in August 2023, should be submitted by 30 September 2022.

  • IUCr enters content partnership with ResearchGate

    Under this agreement, articles from the open-access journals IUCrJActa Cryst. E and IUCrData will be shared directly to the ResearchGate platform on publication, with the goal of facilitating the discovery of and access to new research in crystallography.

  • Temporary job opportunities for scientists fleeing Ukraine

    The global scientific community reacted quickly to the exodus of scholars from Ukraine and created numerous opportunities in their institutions and labs. The crowd-funded initiative #ScienceForUkraine is collecting offers of support; please see the list of opportunities here.

  • IUCr denounces the invasion of Ukraine

    The IUCr is greatly dismayed by the invasion of Ukraine and stands in solidarity with the international scientific community in being concerned for the well-being of all Ukrainian people. The IUCr has suspended publication fees for our journals for authors based in the Ukraine.

The best in crystallographic research

Uniquely among International Scientific Unions, the IUCr publishes its own primary research journals. Acta Crystallographica Sections A–F, IUCrJ, Journal of Applied CrystallographyJournal of Synchrotron Radiation and IUCrData communicate the highest quality peer-reviewed research findings across the many scientific areas to which crystallography is relevant.

[Melbourne 2023 logo]

26th IUCr Congress

Melbourne, Australia
22-29 August 2023

Regional Associate meetings
Portland, OR, USA
29 July-3 August 2022

[AsCA logo]
Jeju, Republic of Korea
30 Oct-2 Nov 2022

[ECA logo]
Versailles, France
23-27 August 2022

San José, Costa Rica
28-30 Nov 2022

IUCr Corporate Associates

Category 1
Category 1
Category 1
Category 1
Category 2
Category 3
Category 3