Commission on Electron Crystallography

Gjønnes Medal in Electron Crystallography - call for nominations

Nominations for the 2023 Gjønnes Medal in Electron Crystallography are invited.


The Gjønnes Medal in Electron Crystallography recognizes an outstanding contribution to the field of electron crystallography. The Gjønnes Medal is accompanied by a certificate and funding to present an invited Keynote Lecture at the triennial International Congress of Crystallography.


This award is managed by the Awards Sub-committee of the Commission on Electron Crystallography (CEC) of the IUCr. This Sub-committee is responsible for soliciting and evaluating and recommending a nominee to members of the CEC for final approval, or recommending that no award be made.

Rules and eligibility

Nomination for the Gjønnes Medal is open to scientists and engineers in all areas of electron crystallography defined in the broadest context as the branch of science that uses electron scattering and imaging to study the structure of matter. Nominees of any nationality are eligible. It is expected that the nomination will be for a single person. However, since breakthrough innovations often involve more than one individual, the nomination can be for two or three people, maximum. In the case of multiple nominees, it must be shown that each person contributed roughly equally to the innovation.

The Award will not be bestowed in absentia except in extraordinary circumstances. Current members of the CEC, members of the IUCr Executive Committee and previous recipients of the Gjønnes Medal are not eligible.

Nomination procedure

The next Gjønnes Medal will be awarded at the 26th IUCr Congress in Melbourne, Australia, in August 2023.

The nomination packet should be sent to the Chair of the CEC, Dr Mauro Gemmi (, and should include the following:

  • A letter of not more than 3000 characters evaluating the nominee's qualifications in the field of electron crystallography and identifying the specific work to be recognized. There is no nomination form, so this letter is considered the nomination "application".
  • Curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  • A list of the most important publications of the nominee.
  • At least two, but no more than four, seconding letters.
The deadline for the receipt of nominations is 30 June 2022.

Previous recipients


S. Hovmöller & U. Kolb 

[Gjonnes 2020] 


R. Henderson & N. Unwin

[Gjønnes Medal winners 2017] 


J. Steeds & M. Tanaka


A. Howie & M. J. Whelan


J. Gjønnes

These pages are maintained by the Commission Last updated: 21 Apr 2022