News and notices

CryoEM section launched in IUCrJ


IUCrJ, launched by the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) in 2014 as an open-access journal publishing high-quality articles across the structural sciences, has included cryoEM since 2015 as part of its biology and medicine section. Recognising the structural biology revolution brought about by cryoEM, the IUCr is pleased to announce a fully dedicated section on cryoEM in IUCrJ. Sriram Subramaniam (NIH, Bethesda, MD, USA) is at the helm as the Main Editor and he, together with Werner Kühlbrandt (MPI, Frankfurt, Germany) and four new Co-editors – Esther Bullitt (Boston University, MA, USA), Lori Passmore (MRC-LMB, Cambridge, UK), Stefan Raunser (MPI, Dortmund, Germany) and Fei Sun (Institute of Biophysics, Beijing, China) – will attract high-quality papers and champion IUCrJ as the natural home for cryoEM results and breakthroughs in instrumentation and methods developments. "Our aim", said Dr Subramaniam, "is to have a long-term impact in structural biology by providing a forum for rapid publication of important results in the cryoEM field."

IUCrJ is the most comprehensive science journal of the IUCr and has already received an impact factor of 5.8. It benefits from fast publication, robust peer review, expert technical editing and, being open access, unlimited readership. Samar Hasnain (Max Perutz Professor of Molecular Biophysics at University of Liverpool, UK), Editor-in-Chief of IUCr Journals, is pleased to launch this dedicated section on cryoEM, which he regards as "the method of the decade for structural biology." Richard Henderson (MRC-LMB, Cambridge, UK), who has been a member of the journal’s Editorial Advisory Board since 2015 and who recently shared the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Jacques Dubochet and Joachim Frank for the development of cryoEM, applauded the move: "As cryoEM increases in power we welcome the broadening of the scope of IUCrJ so that the different methods become more fully integrated."