Denver conference 2000

[Denver logo]
Three hundred and fifty attendees and 210 exhibit staff filled the conference rooms at the Marriott Tech Center for Denver Diffraction 2000, held July 31-Aug. 4. The Birks Award went to Y. Gohshi (Nat'l Inst. for Environment Studies, Tsukuba, Japan) for outstanding contributions to x-ray spectroscopy. The McMurdie Award, new in 2000, was awarded to G.J. McCarthy (N. Dakota State U., Fargo, ND) recognizing distinguished contribution to the Powder Diffraction File. The Jerome B. Cohen Student Award was presented to S. Vogel (Kiel U., Germany) for his paper entitled 'Non-destructive In-situ Real Time Measurements of Structural Phase Transitions Using Neutron Transmission'.