On-line Brillouin Spectroscopy

Argonne, IL USA, September 2009 cars.uchicago.edu/gsecars/dac_brillouin_workshop/brillouin_workshop.htm

GeoSoilEnviroCARS hosted the workshop 'On-line Brillouin Spectroscopy: Basic Principles and Application for High Pressure Research' at the Advanced Photon Source (APS). The workshop was attended by 48 researchers in high pressure science, including graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and participants from outside the US. Talks focused on fundamental aspects of Brillouin scattering and the challenge of combining Brillouin spectroscopy with synchrotron X-ray diffraction techniques, including single-crystal, micro-/nanocrystalline, and amorphous materials. Descriptions of the existing high pressure Brillouin spectroscopy facilities in USA, Germany, Switzerland and Japan, and descriptions of alternative techniques for measuring sound velocities at high pressure and temperature, were presented.

[Brillouin Spectroscopy participants] Participants at the On-line Brillouin Spectroscopy Workshop. Row 1: Jane Andrew, Anastasia Kantor, Stas Sinogeikin, Yuming Xiao, Gopal Pradhan, Nadege Hilairet, Yun-Yuan Chang, Sylvia-Monique Thomas (front), Yue Meng (back), Vitali Prakapenka. Row 2: Carmen Sanchez-Valle, Jay Bass, Tony Yu, Chang-Sheng Zha, Greg Finkelstein, Lili Gao, Esen Alp, Marcos Grimsditch, Zeyu Li. Row 3: Jue Wang, Simon Clark, Przemek Dera, Hyunchae Cynn. Row 4: Wenge Yang, Yanbin Wang, Justin Hustoft, Alexander Goncharov, Nagayoshi Sata, Jiachao Liu, Bin Chen, Xinyang Chen. Row 5: Alexander Kurnosov, Inno Kantor. Row 6: Jonathan Crowhurst, Steve Sutton, Pavel Zinin, Baosheng Li, Dattatraya Dandekar, Chris Holl. Not pictured: Malcolm Guthrie, Valentin Iota, Jung-Fu Lin, Zhu Mao, Olga Shebanova, Guoyin Shen, Wolfgang Sturhahn, Brian Toby, Jiyong Zhao.

The workshop included a tour of high pressure beamlines at the APS and a demonstration of capabilities at GSECARS. Over half of the attendees participated in a hands-on session on the last day. Data analysis software was provided to all participants. The workshop was organized by Vitali Prakapenka (GSECARS, U. of Chicago), Jay Bass (U. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), and Stanislav Sinogeikin (HP-CAT, Carnegie Inst. of Washington), with assistance from Nancy Lazarz and Jane Andrew (U. of Chicago). The organizers acknowledge the support of the Consortium for Materials Properties Research in Earth Sciences (COMPRES), Princeton Instruments, the Center for Advanced Radiation Sources of the U. of Chicago and the Argonne National Laboratory.

Vitali Prakapenka and Jane Andrew