American Crystallographic Association

The American Crystallographic Association, Inc. is a non-profit, scientific organization of over 1,300 members in more than 37 countries.  ACA was founded in 1949 through a merger of the American Society for X-Ray and Electron Diffraction (ASXRED) and the Crystallographic Society of America (CSA). The objective of the ACA is to promote interactions among scientists who study the structure of matter at atomic (or near atomic) resolution. These interactions will advance experimental and computational aspects of crystallography and diffraction.  Understanding the nature of the forces that both control and result from the molecular and atomic arrangements in matter will help shed light on chemical interactions in nature and can therefore lead to cures for disease.

Membership in the ACA is open to any person who is actively interested in the purposes of the Association.  Student members are very welcome and their contributions to the life and vigor of the Association has always been important.

Meetings are held annually in July, except every third year when they are held in May due to the IUCr Congress. There are 12 Scientific Interest Groups concerned with Biological Macromolecules, Fiber Diffraction, General Interest, Industrial, Materials Science, Neutron Scattering, Powder Diffraction, Service Crystallography, Small Angle Scattering, Small Molecules, Synchrotron Radiation and Young Scientists.  Members may join as many of these as they wish. Each Scientific Interest Group is responsible for organizing sessions at National Meetings at least every other year.

Click here to open in a new tab.


Mission Statement

The American Crystallographic Association is a member society of the American Institute of Physics, a Regional Associate of the International Union of Crystallography, promoting interactions among scientists who study the structure of matter at atomic (or near atomic) resolution. These interactions advance experimental and computational aspects of crystallography and diffraction.

Constitution and Bylaws

The bylaws of the ACA are in the form of a Constitution established on November 1, 1970, with amendments and changes approved November 1992, July 1995, December 1999, December 2003.

Canadian Division

The Canadian Division exists to represent the interests of Canadian crystallographers within the ACA and to promote scientific discussion among the approximate 220 members resident in Canada.  The Canadian Division has their own Bylaws and Officers. 

Officers, Appointments and Office Staff

Officers include members of ACA Council: President, Vice President, Past President, Treasurer, Secretary and Canadian Representative.  Appointments include the Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer, and Director of Administrative Services.

Standing Committees

Standing Committees include the Continuing Education Committee, Data Standards & Computing and the Communications Committee.

Scientific Interest Groups

Scientific Interest Groups (SIGs) are a vital part of the ACA.  There are 12 SIGs that each represent a particular discipline within the field of crystallography, allowing members to focus on their area of specialty while retaining access to interaction with the entire range of crystallographic techniques and applications.  Any member may join however many SIGs they wish. There are no additional fees association with SIG membership.

SIGs are responsible for defining the program at annual meetings.  Each SIG is charges with organizing at least one half-day session every two years.  This is a great opportunity for members to get involved in the ACA at a grass roots level and have a direct impact upon the annual meeting.

The following countries are National Members of the American Crystallographic Association.