Commission on Electron Crystallography


Electron Crystallography School Moscow, Russia – June, 2003

The regular school on Electronic crystallography was carried out in Moscow from June, 23 till June, 27 2003 in the Institute of crystallography of the Russian Academy of Science. It has been organized under the initiative of the Commission on electronic diffraction at the International Union of Crystallographers and at its financial support. Carrying out of the school has been devoted to celebrating 60-years formations of IC RAS. The second important circumstance was that the school was carried out in institute where the method electron diffraction structural analysis (EDSA) was born and was developed within long years, having own traditions and a history. Founders of a method in Russia were Z.Pinsker and B.Vainshtein becoming subsequently the director of the Institute of crystallography. Later a wide range of structures including thin films, metals and alloys, oxides, semoconductors, catalysts and compex minerals have been solved by electron crystallography, in many laboratories around the world.

The objectives of this School was to provide a basic knowledge for PhD students and scientists interested in applying electron crystallography techniques for structure determinations of inorganic materials and nanostructures. The subjects of the school were: image formation and diffraction, kinematical and dynamical theory; direct methods and maximum entropy in theory and practice for crystal and surface structure determination; data processing in HREM images, crystal structure determination; quantitative CBED and its application to crystal structure determination; precise electron diffractometry for quantitative crystal potential and bonding analysis; electron diffraction on specific samples (texture patterns for minerals, diffraction on gases etc.); CCD cameras and image plates for electron crystallography; orientation imaging microscopy. Practical training with software and exercises was an essential part of the School.

Experts known in the field of electronic crystallography have taken part in work of school: L.D.Marks (Chicago university), K.Tsuda (Tohoku University), Hua Jiang (Technical Research Center of Finland), T.Wierich (Aachen university), M.Jemmi (University of Milan), Rene de Kloe (EDAX company). The Russian school has been submitted by 5 lecturers: A.Kiselev, A.Avilov and V.Klechkovskaja (all from Institute of crystallography), L.Vilkov (Moscow State university), and M.Nikolsky (Institute of ore mineralogy- IGEM).

The basic part of students was from Russia (80 %). Many of the registered participants could not arrive on school on financial reasons (because of expensive travel). It concerned also foreign young scientific and Russian participants from the remote regions of Russia and the countries of nearest abroad.

The saturated scientific program has not allowed to give a lot of attention to studying of Moscow and it cultural values. Therefore only one visiting the Moscow Kremlin which has made indelible impression on participants of school has been organized.

Carrying out of school by Institute of crystallography would be impossible without financial support which have carried out the International Union Crystallographers, the Ministry on a science and technologies of Russia, company Interactive Corporation (JEOL) and EDAX company. Due to this not only it was possible to solve many organizational questions, but also to render financial support to the young scientists, mainly, as travel-grants. The big support and assistance in carrying out of school was rendered by the former Chairman of the commission on electron diffraction at IUCr Douglas Dorset and the organizer of previous schools on electronic crystallography in Europe Sven Hofmoller.