Fifth Summer School on Mathematical Crystallography

Massimo Nespolo

The fifth edition of the Summer School on Mathematical Crystallography in Nancy, France, was held from 12 to 16 June 2023 on the campus of the Faculty of Sciences and Technologies of the Université de Lorraine. It welcomed 28 participants (16 males, 12 females) from 19 countries and 4 continents, representing 26 institutions from 13 countries and 4 continents. Lodging and restoration were provided on-site.

The program included group theory, exercises on International Tables for Crystallography and on the Bilbao Crystallographic Server, as well as tutorials on the Jana2020 software package. The lecturers were Professor Massimo Nespolo (Université de Lorraine), Professor Mois Ilia Aroyo (Universidad del País Vasco, Bilbao, Spain; editor of Volume A of International Tables for Crystallography), Dr Michal Dušek (Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czechia) and Dr Andrey Zameshin (Malvern Panalytical), supported by Dr Isabella Pignatelli (Université de Lorraine) as tutor. Poster presentations from the participants were on display during the five days of the school.


The school benefited from the generous financial support of the IUCr, the European Crystallographic Association, the Association Française de Cristallographie, the Société Française de Minéralogie et Cristallographie, the Université de Lorraine (via the Doctoral School of Chemistry, Materials and Physics and the Pôle scientifique CPM), the Grand Nancy Metropolitan Government, and Malvern Panalytical as industrial partner. More than half of the budget was used to help students and young scientists to attend the school by partially covering their expenses.

This school was organized in the framework of the activities of the IUCr Commission on Mathematical and Theoretical Crystallography, which had been slowed down by the SARS-CoV-2 outbreak.


Details on the school and the list of participants can be found on the school website.

25 September 2023

Copyright © - All Rights Reserved - International Union of Crystallography

The permanent URL for this article is