Members and Consultants of the Commission were ratified at the 24rd General Assembly of the IUCr in Hyderabad, 2017. Details of individual's research interests and contact details can be found in their linked World Directory of Crystallographers entry. 




                       Chair: U-Ser Jeng                  soft matter          Asia Pacific (member since 2011)

U-Ser Jeng, Dr.

National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (NSRRC)

101 Hsin-Ann Road, Hsinchu Science Park, Hsinchu 30076, Taiwan

Adjunct Professor

Department of Chemical Engineering

National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu 30013, Taiwan

Tel : +886-3-578-0281, ext-7108

Fax : +886-3-578-3813

                                 David Babonneau                    materials            Europe (member since 2011)

David Babonneau, Dr.

Institut P'

Département Physique et Mécanique des Matériaux

UPR 3346 CNRS - Université de Poitiers - ENSMA

SP2MI, 11 Bvd M. & P. Curie, BP 30179

86962 Futuroscope Chasseneuil Cedex, France

Tel: +33 (0)5 49 49 67 25

Fax: +33 (0)5 49 49 66 92


                Elliot Gilbert                   soft matter and materials    Asia Pacific (member since 2017)

Elliot Paul Gilbert, Dr. 


Instrument Scientist, QUOKKA (SANS) Lead, Food Materials Science

---Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering


Locked Bag 2001

Kirrawee DC

NSW 2232



Tel: (61)-2-9717-9470 

Fax: (61)-2-9717-3606

Honorary Professor,

The Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology and

Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation,

The University of Queensland


                                Duncan McGillivray              soft matter          Asia Pacific (member since 2014)

Duncan McGillivray, Dr.

Associate Professor of Physical Chemistry

Associate Dean (Academic)

Faculty of Science

The University of Auckland

Private Bag 92019

Auckland 1142


Office:   +64 9 923 8255 (internal: x88255)

Mobile: +64 21 952 576


  Jan Ilavsky         materials            North America (national cttee nominee)(member since 2017)

Jan Ilavsky, Dr.


X-Ray Science Division

Advanced Photon Source

Argonne National Laboratory

9700 S. Cass Avenue, bldg 433A002

Argonne, IL 60439, USA

Phone:  (630) 252-0866


Skype:  Honzail


Whatsapp & Google Duo:     +16307748814

web page:

Indra 2 web page:

Irena 2 web page:

Nika web page:

USAXS web page:

APS small-angle page:

Youtube channel:

Shipping instructions:

                    Kristina Djinovic Carugo       biology               Europe     (member since 2017)

Kristina Djinovic Carugo, Dr.


Department of Structural and Computational Biology

Max F. Perutz Laboratories

University of Vienna

Vienna Biocenter (VBC), Campus Vienna Biocenter 5 

A-1030 Vienna



Phone: +43-1-4277-52203

Phone: +43-1-4277-52201 (secretary)

Mobile A: +43-664-602 77-522 03        Fax: +43-1-4277-9522

  Eleonora Shtykova      biology    Eastern Europe/Northern Asia (national cttee nominee)(member since 2017)

Eleonora Shtykova, Dr.

FRSC "Crystallography and Photonics RAS, Moscow, Russia

Tel.: +7 499 1354020  Mobil: +7 903 7731940



      Masaaki Sugiyama                 soft matter          Asia Pacific (national cttee nominee)(member since 2017)                   

Masaaki Sugiyama, Dr.


Research Reactor Institute,Kyoto University 

Kumatori, Sennan-gun, Osaka 590-0494 JAPAN  







                         Andrew Allen                        materials            North America(Chair 2011-2014)

Andrew J. Allen, Dr.


U.S. Department of Commerce

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Material Measurement Laboratory

Building 223, Room B204

100 Bureau Drive, Stop 8520

Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8520

Phone: 301-975-5982

FAX: 301-975-5334




                      Javier Pérez                           biology               Europe (national cttee nominee)

Javier Pérez, Dr.

Group leader - Beamline SWING 

Synchrotron SOLEIL

Saint-Aubin - BP 48

91192 Gif sur Yvette Cedex


Tel : +33 (0)1 69 35 96 19 (office)/+33 (0)1 69 35 97 53 (beamline)


                       Daniel Clemens                     materials            Europe

Daniel Clemens, Dr.

Research field: Small-angle neutron scattering from electrochemical
systems and colloids, instrumentation

Contact address: Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
                                Hahn-Meitner-Platz 1
                                14109 Berlin


 Gruppe Kolloidphysik


 Institut für weiche Materie und funktionale Materialien (EM-ISFM)


 Tel.: +49-30-8062 42280


 Fax: +49-30-8062 42951


 Mobil: +49-175-1864724

Website: (to be



                                    Pete Jemian                           materials            North America

Pete R. Jemian, Dr.               

Beam line Controls and Data Acquisition, Group Leader

Advanced Photon Source,   Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne, IL  60439, USA

                   630 - 252 - 3189



                    Jill Trewhella,   Journals rep.    biology               Asia Pacific and North America (2005-2014; Chair 2014-2017)

Jill Trewhella, Dr.




The University of Sydney


Room 681, Building G08


Emeritus Professor


School of Life and Environmental Sciences (SOLES)


The University of Sydney, NSW 2006, Australia


Tel : +61 4 3275 3933


Fax : n.a.





                                                     Dmitri Svergun                     biology                Europe (Chair 2005-2008)

Dmitri Svergun, Dr.

 Group Leader and Senior Scientist

 European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Hamburg Outstation,

 EMBL c/o DESY, Notkestrasse 85, D-22607 Hamburg, Germany

 E-mail: Svergun@EMBL-Hamburg.DE

 Tel. +49 40 89902 125 Fax. +49 40 89902 149


                                          Iris Torriani                           soft matter                South America

Iris L. Torriani, Dr.


Present Position: Collaborator Associated Professor

Institution:   State University of Campinas - Physics Institute

Department: Condensed Matter Physics Department

Address:  R. Sérgio Buarque de Holanda 777

13083-859 - Campinas, SP


Phone:  +55(19) 3521-5473

Fax:      +55(19)  3521-4146

iPhone: +55(19) 9 9111-9396 

E-mail(s):    / 


Research Field:  Soft matter - Small angle scattering of nanostructured and biological systems.