Bookmark and Share

Australian Synchrotron

Two new contributors to the beamline pool have been announced: ANSTO and New Zealand.

The Minister for Innovation, J. Brumby, announced the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organization (ANSTO) would provide $5 million toward initial beamlines planned for the Australian Synchrotron, which is on schedule and on budget. This commitment is in addition to $15 million alreadly committed by Melbourne U., Monash U., the CSIRO, and MiniFAB.

The Australian Synchrotron Research Program (ASRP), run out of ANSTO, offers researchers opportunities to use overseas synchrotrons, however, it is felt that a national facility is  needed. Victoria’s Premier, S. Bracks and New Zealand’s Minister for Research, Science and Technology, P. Hodgson announced that New Zealand has agreed in principle to contribute AUD$5 million towards the Australian Synchrotron beamlines. 'The Victorian Government has been bold and farsighted in committing to the capital cost of this crucial science  infrastructure,' Mr. Hodgson said. 'New Zealand R&D will benefit substantially, and our in-principle commitment will give this nationa a seat at the table in determining how the facility developes. 'Like Australia, New Zealand has so-called 'suitcase scientists’ forced to go to the Northern Hemisphere to undertake leading edge R&D. This new Australian facility will bring the tools they need much closer.'

SCANZ Newsletter, No 58, August 2004