2022 Meeting of the Crystallographic Society of Japan

Tatsuhiro KojimaHiroyoshi Matsumura
Kwansei Gakuin University, the venue for CrSJ2022.

The 2022 Annual Meeting and General Assembly of the Crystallographic Society of Japan (CrSJ2022) was held at Kwansei Gakuin University during 26–27 November. The meeting was held face-to-face for the first time in three years. About 215 crystallographers participated in the meeting. There were 215 presentations covering all aspects of crystallography, and four award lectures.

At the CrSJ Awards Ceremony, the Research Award was given to Kunihisa Sugimoto (Kindai University) for his research “Development of advanced X-ray diffractometers for synchrotron radiation and research on functional materials” and Hiroyoshi Matsumura (Ritsumeikan University) for his research “Structural biology of carbon assimilation in photosynthesis”. The Young Crystallographer Award was given to Satoshi Hiroi (Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute) for his research “Development of structural analysis method for crystalline/amorphous phases mixture by X-ray total scattering measurements” and Yoshihiko Furuike (Institute for Molecular Science) for his research “Allostery in Cyanobacterial Clock Protein Orchestrating Circadian Rhythm”.

[CrSJ2022 awards]
The recipients of the 2022 CrSJ Awards with the President of CrSJ. From left: K. Sugimoto, S. Hiroi, A. Nakagawa (President), Y. Furuike and H. Matsumura.

Five young scientists were honored with Student Presentation Awards: Y. Nakagawa (Ryukoku University), I. Kurauchi (Osaka University), Y. Zhu (Tokyo Insitute of Technoogy), H. Ito (University of Tokyo) and K. Endo (Tottori University).

[CrSJ2022 poster prize awardees]
The Poster Awardees with the President of CrSJ. From left: A. Nakagawa (President), Y. Nakagawa, I. Kurauchi, Y. Zhu, H. Ito and K. Endo.

The Young Crystallographers' Meeting 2022 was held online on 25 November, and 33 researchers/students participated. This meeting is held every year to give young researchers and graduate students the opportunity to communicate and network with each other, especially beyond the barriers between physics, mineralogy, chemistry and biology, in an informal environment. This year, four lectures by Kentaro Kadota (Kyoto University), Shiori Sugiura (Tohoku University), Rei Matsuoka (Stockholm University) and Yusuke Ishigaki (Hokkaido University) were given, and the participants entered into lively discussions.

[CrSJ2022 young crystallographers]
Speakers and participants in the Young Crystallographers' Meeting 2022.

The chair of the organization committee was H. Yamaguchi (Kwansei Gakuin University) and the program committee was chaired by I. Takahashi (Kwansei Gakuin University).

The next annual meeting will be held during 27–29 October 2023 at Yamaguchi University in Yamaguchi, Japan. The chair of the organization committee is A. Nakatsuka (Yamaguchi University) and the program committee is chaired by K. Komatsu (University of Tokyo).


23 January 2023

Copyright © - All Rights Reserved - International Union of Crystallography

The permanent URL for this article is https://www.iucr.org/news/newsletter/volume-31/number-1/2022-meeting-of-the-crystallographic-society-of-japan