Bookmark and Share

IUCr Main Editor appointments

Acta Crystallographica Section E: Crystallographic Communications appoints Elena Boldyreva and Chiara Massera

[Elena Boldyreva]

Elena Boldyreva received her PhD in Physical Chemistry in 1988 and Dr Sci. in Solid State Chemistry in 2000 from the Institute of Solid State Chemistry and Mechanochemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences (Novosibirsk). She is now a Chief Researcher at this Institute and the Head of the Division of Solid State Chemistry of Novosibirsk State U. Her research interests include reactivity of solids, mechanochemistry, photo- and thermo-mechanical effects, non-ambient crystallography and spectroscopy, molecular and inorganic materials, polymorphism, crystallisation, phase transitions, dissolution of molecular solids, metastable and amorphous states of molecular solids, physical pharmacy, drug research and development. Elena has held many senior committee positions, including being an elected member of the Executive Committee of the IUCr (2008-2014). From 2008 to 2017 she was a co-editor of Acta Cryst. B. From 2012 to 2014 she was a member of the Presidential Council of Science and Education of Russia and since 2014 has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Council of the Russian Ministry of Science and Education. She has received many national and international awards, the latest being an Honorary Doctorate from the U. of Edinburgh in 2016.

[Chiara Massera]

Chiara Massera obtained her PhD in Chemistry in 2001 from the U. of Parma, Italy, where she is currently Associate Professor. Her research projects focus on the crystallographic analysis of supramolecular complexes and coordination compounds, with the aim of studying molecular recognition phenomena and of elucidating structure-function correlations. She is a member of the teaching commission of the Italian Crystallographic Association, and promoter and vice-chair of GIG3, the General Interest Group on Education in Crystallography of the ECA.

Acta Crystallographica Section F: Structural Biology Communications appoints Mark van Raaij

[Mark van Raaij]

Mark van Raaij studied Chemistry at the U. of Leiden, the Netherlands, and obtained a PhD in Biology from Cambridge U., UK, working at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology with John Walker on biochemical and structural studies of inhibitors of mitochondrial F1-ATPase. After that he pursued postdoctoral research with Stephen Cusack at the EMBL Grenoble outstation, France, where he solved high-resolution crystallographic structures of the human adenovirus fibre protein and its receptor. As an independent scientist, first at the U. of Leiden and then at the U. of Santiago de Compostela, Spain, he continued work on viral proteins, solving structures of reovirus proteins, adenovirus proteins and proteins of bacteriophage T4. Currently Mark is a group leader at the Centro Nacional de Biotecnologia in Madrid, Spain, where his group specialises in macromolecular crystallography, concentrating on bacteriophage and adenovirus receptor-binding proteins.

Journal of Applied Crystallography appoints Garry McIntyre

[Garry McIntyre]

Garry McIntyre is currently Research Leader at the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, one of the landmark infrastructures run by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), which is host to OPAL, one of the youngest research reactors worldwide. He is also Visiting Professor in the Dept. of Chemistry at Durham U., UK. His primary role at ANSTO is management of the scientists responsible for the operation of the neutron-beam instruments and supporting X-ray instruments, neutron polarisation capability, and computer modelling. Garry's research interests focus on neutron scattering techniques, especially single-crystal diffractometry and polarised-neutron techniques, diffraction physics, charge and spin density in molecular compounds, structural chemistry and cultural heritage.

The IUCr would like to take this opportunity to thank all those scientists who have expressed an interest in joining the IUCr Journals editorial board.