Bookmark and Share

News from ICDD

Goehner and Michael Receive Hanawalt Award

[ICDD logo]
The Int’l Centre for Diffraction Data (ICDD) takes pleasure in announcing that Raymond P. Goehner, and Joseph R. Michael, both of Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA received the 2001 J.D. Hanawalt Award for excellence in the field of X-ray powder diffraction at the 50th Annual Denver X-ray Conf. in Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA, August 1, 2001. Goehner and Michael presented the Hanawalt Award Lecture entitled, 'Phase Identification Using Electron Backscatter Diffraction in the SEM: A Powerful Tool for Materials Science'.

The J.D. Hanawalt Award is presented every three years for important contributions to the field of X-ray powder diffraction and phase identification published within the last five years. The award consists of a plaque, an honorarium, and travel funds to attend the meeting at which the award and lecture will be presented.

Previous recipients include: Herbert Göbel, 1998; Daniel Louër, 1992; William Parrish, 1986; and Ludo K. Frevel, 1983.

Appointment of new executive director

The ICDD is pleased to announce that Tim Fawcett is the new Executive Director of the ICDD. Tim has been a long time ICDD member, ICDD Fellow, and member of the Board of Directors (1986-1988).

Tim received his BS degree with honors from the U. of Massachusetts, and his Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from Rutgers U. in 1979. He joined Dow Chemical Co., worked in the X-ray diffraction facility, managed the inorganic analysis laboratories and from 1989 to 1994, he was a manager in Dow’s Ceramics and Advanced Materials Laboratories. Since 1994 he has managed Dow’s Advanced Technologies and Inorganic Coating Group, the Interfacial Sciences Discipline, and most recently, two of Dow’s new product development areas which involved a portfolio of projects leading to advanced materials products.