Bookmark and Share


Kenneth N. Raymond (U. of California, Berkeley) is among the new members of the American Academy of Arts & Science for 2001

Julia Goodfellow, currently head of crystallography at Birkbeck College, London, will become the first women to lead the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council.

Fellows of the Royal Society Congratulations to Andrew Leslie and George Sheldrick who have been appointed Fellows of the Royal Society.

Ada E. Yonath, Martin S. Kimmel Professorial Chair, Weizman Inst. of Science, Rehovot, Israel, will receive the 2002 F.A. Cotton Medal sponsored by the ACS Texas A&M Section and the Texas A&M U. chemistry dept. Yonath was chosen for her pathbreaking research elucidating the structure and function of ribosomes.

• The recipient of the 2001 ENSA/Hälg Prize is Jane Brown, Inst. Laue Langevin, Grenoble, in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the science of neutron scattering over the last four decades. The prize was presented at a special session of the Int’l Conference on Neutron Scattering in Munich in September.

• Massachusetts Inst. of Technology biophysicist Alexander Rich has been selected to receive Sigma Xi’s 2001 William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement. Sigma Xi’s highest honor, the annual Procter Prize, recognizes scientific achievement and an ability to communicate the importance of that research to others. Rich has long been recognized as a preeminent researcher in structural molecular biology. In 1979 he led a team of researchers at MIT that startled the world of structural biology with the announcement that they had found a 'left-handed' form of DNA. Rich described in Science (June 11, 1999) how the three-dimensional structure of ZDNA binds to proteins involved in editing genetic messages important in a number of brain receptors. Rich received the US Medal of Science in 1995.