Bookmark and Share

2004 Clifford G. Shull Prize

[J. Michael Rowe] J. Michael Rowe.
J. Michael Rowe (NIST Center for Neutron Research) is the first recipient of the 2004 Clifford G. Shull Prize of the Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) 'For his seminal vision, leadership, and contributions to the field of neutron scattering'. The prize and $5000 honorarium will be awarded at the 2004 ACNS, June 6-10, in College Park, MD (

The NSSA established the Clifford G. Shull Prize in Neutron Science to recognize outstanding research in neutron science and leadership promoting the North American neutron scattering community. The prize is named in honor of Clifford G. Shull, who received the Nobel Prize in 1994 with Bertram Brockhouse for seminal developments in the field of neutron science. The establishment of the prize was announced at the inaugural American Conference on Neutron Scattering (ACNS) in 2002.

Early in his career, Mike Rowe was at the forefront of research on the dynamics, structure and fundamental properties of materials, including infl uential work on hydrogen in metals, orientationally disordered solids and monatomic liquids. In addition, he has made significant contributions to the development of inelastic spectrometers and other instruments that utilize cold neutrons and is a leader in the design of the latest generation cold neutron sources, including the most efficient hydrogen cold source currently operating in the world at the NCNR. Dr. Rowe’s talents and his profound impact on American neutron science go far beyond his individual contributions to research and instrumentation. Through his leadership and engineering creativity over the past 15 years, the NCNR has become the most important and widely used neutron facility thus far developed in the US.