Bookmark and Share

Ewald Prize - call for nominations

[Woolfson receiving 6th Ewald Prize] Professor Michael M. Woolfson (left; Physics Department, University of York, UK) receiving the sixth Ewald Prize from Professors Michiyoshi Tanaka (centre) and Henk Schenk, then IUCr Vice-President and President, respectively, at the opening ceremony of the XIX IUCr Congress in Geneva, Switzerland, on 6 August 2002.

The seventh Ewald Prize, for which nominations are now being invited, will be presented at the XX IUCr Congress in Florence, Italy, in August 2005.

Scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography are eligible for the Ewald Prize, irrespective of nationality, age or experience. The Selection Committee will give careful attention to the nominations of outstanding scientists who have not yet won a Nobel Prize. Either an exceptionally distinguished scientific career or a major scientific accomplishment may be recognized. Current members of the Selection Committee (see below) and the President of the IUCr are not eligible. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of the nominee's contributions. The Prize may be shared by more than one contributor, but not more than three, to the same scientific achievement.

Nominations should be submitted to the Executive Secretary, IUCr Secretariat, 2 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, UK, using the Ewald Prize Nomination Form. The closing date for nominations is 31 August 2004. For full details and a nomination form see

2005 Ewald Prize Selection Committee

M. Tanaka (Japan) (Chair)
E. Boldyreva (Russia)
C. J. De Ranter (Belgium)
S. Fortier (Canada)
J. R. Schneider (Germany)
X. Solans (Spain)
Yu Wang (Taiwan)