Bookmark and Share

European crystallography prize

[ECA logo]

The European Crystallographic Assn (ECA) invites nominations for the fourth European Crystallography Prize to recognize a significant achievement or discovery in crystallography in the past 5-10 years. Nominees should be affiliated or identified with the European crystallographic community, as broadly defined in the charter of the ECA (

The prize, including a monetary award and certificate of recognition, will be awarded at the opening ceremony of the 22st European Crystallography Meeting (ECM-22) in Budapest, Hungary, August 26-31, 2004. Previous laureates are: 2000, Ada Yonath (Israel); 2001, Jochen R. Schneider (Germany); 2003: Carmelo Giacovazzo (Italy).

Nominations should include a statement of the contribution for which the prize is to be awarded and a short curriculum vitae of the nominee. Send postmarked no later than February 28, 2004 to: A. Liljas, Molecular Biophysics, Center for Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Lund U., Box 124, SE-221 00 Lund, Sweden; Tel: 46 46 222 46 81; Fax: 46-46-222 46 92; e-mail: