Bookmark and Share

2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry announced

As the final proofs for this issue were being checked it was announced that the 2012 Nobel prize in chemistry has been awarded to Robert Lefkowitz and crystallographer Brian Kobilka for studies of G-protein coupled receptors. A news feature in Nature in Aug 2011 (Vol. 476, pp. 387-390) describes the years Kobilka devoted to preparing single crystals essential to the structure determination.