Commission on XAFS

W1 X-Ray Absorption Spectroscopy for the Crystallographer

Hyderabad, 21 August 2017

Venue: MR. 1.01


A oneday, free Workshop on XAFS titled "X-Ray Absorption Spectroscopy for the Crystallographer" was held on August 21, 2017, in Hyderabad as a satellite event for the XXIV International Congress and General Assembly of the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr2017, Hyderabad, August 12-28, 2014,

The workshop has provided an overview of the physics and chemistry of X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy with a particular emphasis on its complementarity with diffraction techniques. The curriculum will include introductions to beamline instrumentation, measurement methods, and methods of data processing and analysis.

This workshop, which has been organized by the IUCr XAFS Commission and the International X-ray Absorption Society, with the local support from the Board of Research in Nuclear Science (India).

Christopher Chantler (University of Melbourne, Australia; e-mail:
Farideh Jalilehvand (University of Calgary, Canada; e-mail:
Bruce Ravel (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA; e-mail:

Local organizer:
Dibyendu Bhattacharyya (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, India; e-mail:

The content of presentations are available on this website.

The Organizers


Links to documents provided by Tutors


Session 1

Chair: Chris Chantler (Australia)

Farideh Jalilehvand: Introduction to X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy

Chris Chantler: XAFS Theory: XANES and EXAFS Spectra


Session 2

Chair: Farideh Jalilehvand (Canada)

Steve Heald: The XAS Experiments at Synchrotron Radiation Facilities

Boopesh Mishra: EXAFS data analysis

Panel on Softwares for data analyis

Giuliana Aquilanti: XAS for Materials Science


Session 3

Chair: Chris Chantler (Australia)

Riti Sarangi: X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy: Application to Biological Systems

Sohini Basu: XAS for industry

Hugh Harris: XRF and XAS of Ni hyperaccumulating plants 

Bruce Ravel:  A Brief Guide to Writing Synchrotron User Proposals for XAFS


These pages are maintained by the Commission Last updated: 24 Oct 2022