Bookmark and Share

Call for nominations for Fankuchen and Trueblood Awards

Nominations are solicited for the 2007 Fankuchen Memorial Award and the 2007 Kenneth N. Trueblood Award. Both awards will be presented at the annual ACA meeting in Salt Lake City in July, 2007. The recipients will give their lectures at special Award Symposia organized to honor them. Both awards are given every three years and each consists of an honorarium plus travel expenses to accept the award. There are no geographic or age restrictions. The Fankuchen Award carries the additional responsibility that the Award Lecture should also be presented at an academic institution of the recipient’s choice. Nominations should be submited to the ACA no later than May 1, 2006. A nominating letter clearly indicating the accomplishments of the individual is required; an additional supporting letter and a c.v. for the nominee may be provided, but are not required.

[Fankuchen]Isidor Fankuchen
The Fankuchen Award was established in 1971 in memory of Isidor Fankuchen, Professor of Physics at the Polytechnic Inst. of Brooklyn, 1942-1964. It is given to recognize contributions to crystallographic research by one who is known to be an effective teacher of crystallography. Previous winners were: 2004: Alexander McPherson; 2001: James Stewart; 1998: E. Dodson; 1995: Jenny Glusker and Kennth Trueblood; 1992: L. D. Casper; 1989: David Sayre; 1986: Michael S. Rossmann; 1983: Lyle H. Jensen; 1980: David Harker; 1977: Dorothy Hodgkin; 1974: A. Guinier; 1971: Martin J. Buerger.
[Trueblood]Kenneth N. Trueblood
The Kenneth N. Trueblood Award was given for the first time in 2004 to Richard E. Marsh. It was created to recognize exceptional achievement in computational or chemical crystallography. The award was established in 2001 in memory of Professor Kenneth N. Trueblood, UCLA 1949-1998, who was a major force in the early use of computers and the development of crystallographic computer programs. He applied these programs to the examination of chemical and molecular details of many structures at the frontiers of research. His contribution to the work on vitamin B12 is one example. Prof. Trueblood was a leader in the development of techniques for analysis of anisotropic motion and was also a superb teacher and a lucid author.

Further information about the awards can be found on the ACA website (