Bookmark and Share

European Crystallography Prize

[ECA logo]The European Crystallographic Association (ECA) invites nominations for the second European Crystallography Prize to recognize a significant achievement or discovery in crystallography in the past 5-10 years. Nominees should be affiliated or identified with the European crystallographic community, as broadly defined in the charter of the ECA (see the ECA-news site

The prize, including a monetary award and certificate of recognition, will be awarded at the opening ceremony of the 20th European Crystallography Meeting (ECM-20) in Krakow, Poland, August 25-31, 2001.

The first prize was awarded to Professor Ada Yonath of the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel at the ECM-19 in Nancy, France in August, 2000 for 'her pioneering achievements in structural studies on the ribosome'.

Nominations should include a statement of the contribution for which the prize is to be awarded, a 2-3 page curriculum vitae of the nominee and the signature of at least three additional nominators, preferably with supporting nominating letters. They should be postmarked no later than February 28, 2001 and should be sent to: Davide Viterbo, Dip. di Chimica IFM, U. di Torino, Via P. Giuria 7, I-10125 Torino, Italy; FAX: 39-011-6707855, E-mail: