Bookmark and Share

ACA announces 2006 Buerger and Warren Award winners

To be presented at the ACA meeting in Honolulu, HI, July 22-27, 2006:

Martin Buerger Award

[Berman]Helen Berman (Rutgers, The State U. of New Jersey). The Buerger Award recognizes a mature scientist who has made a contribution of exceptional distinction in an area of interest to the ACA. The award recognizes Helen’s lifetime work in the pioneering development of information services for the global community of researchers who both produce and use macromolecular structural data. A session on systematic approaches to structural biology is planned.

Bertram E. Warren Award

[Majkrzak]Charles F. Majkrzak (National Inst. of Standards and Technology). The Warren Award recognizes an important recent contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron, or electron diffraction techniques. Charles is being cited for his seminal contributions to the development of neutron reflectivity and for his pioneering work in the exploration of many issues in interface science using this technique. A session on materials is planned.