Bookmark and Share

2002 Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarships

[ICDD logo]
The ICDD Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship Committee has selected six recipients for the 2002 Scholarship program. These recipients were selected, on a competitive basis, from forty-one well deserving applications received by the ICDD Scholarship Committee. The recipients are:
Dane A. Boysen (California Inst. of Technology, Pasadena, CA) with research involving 'Hydrogen-Bonding, Phase Transitions, and Proton Conductivity in MH2PO4-Type Solid Acids (M=Li, K, Na, Rb, Cs and NH4);' Desiree H. Fong (McGill U., Montreal, Quebec, Canada) with exploration into 'Structural Analysis of an Antibiotic-Detoxifying Kinase;' Jeffrey H. Haeni (Pennsylvania State U., University Park, PA) with major interest in 'Growth and Characterization of Metastable BaTiO3/SrTiO3 Superlattices;' Michael W. Lufaso (Ohio State U., Columbus, OH) with studies focusing on 'Evaluation and Prediction of the Crystal Structures of Single/Ordered/Disordered Octahedral Cation Perovskites Using the Software Program SPuDS;' Jeffrey P. Maranchi (Carnegie Mellon U., Pittsburgh, PA) with research concerning 'Novel Chemical Synthesis and Characterization of Electrode Materials for Thin Film Lithium-Ion Batteries;' and Christine M. Clark McCracken (U. of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada) who’s investigating 'The Crystallography and Chemistry of Tourmaline.'

The ICDD will present each of these students with a check in the amount of $2,250, to help them continue their studies in their selected fields of crystallographic research.

Helen M. McDonnell