Bookmark and Share


• The $35,000 Minister’s Prize for Achievement in Life Sciences has been awards to Bostjan Kobe of the U. of Queensland for research in exploring the shape of basic building blocks-proteins. The Prime Minister and Minister for Industry, Science and Resources presented the 2001 Science Prizes to the winner during a dinner in the Great Hall of Parliament House on September 25 2001.

Arjen van Langevelde was awarded the DOW Energy Dissertation Prize for his thesis 'Triglycerol structures and the Cocoa-butter Crystallisation'. His work leads to a new way of producing chocolate which uses less energy as the usual production processes. He prepared his thesis in Henk Schenk’s group at the U. of Amsterdam.

Julie Goodfellow from Birkbeck College, U. of London, will become one of the first women to head one of the British Government’s seven scientific Research Councils. Her research interests include the use of computer simulation techniques to study the structure and function of large molecules.

Graeme Davies has succeeded Brian Eyre as Chair of the Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils (CCLRC).

Raymond P. Goehner and Joseph R. Michael, both of Sandia Nat’l Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM, receive the 2001 J.D. Hanawalt Award for excellence in the field of X-Ray Powder Diffraction. Goehner and Michael presented the Hanawalt Award Lecture entitled, 'Phase Identification Using Electron Backscatter Diffraction in the SEM: A Powerful Tool for Materials Science' at the 50th Annual Denver X-Ray Conference in Steamboat Springs, CO, USA, August 1, 2001. Previous recipients of the prestigious award include: Herbert Gobel, 1998; Daniel Louer, 1992; William Parrish, 1986; and Ludo K. Frevel, 1983.

James Watson, co-discoverer with Francis Crick, of the double-helix structure of DNA, has received an honorary knighthood for 'services to the UK-American partnership in the field of genetics and science'. Watson is president of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

Stephen Z. Goldberg, (Prof. of Chemistry, Adelphi U., NY) is one of ten newly elected members of the American Assn of University Professors (AAUP) National Council (Washington, D.C.).

Winnie Wong-Ng (NIST, Gaithersburg, MD) was elected as a Fellow of the American Ceramics Society recently 'For recognition of the notable contributions to the Ceramic Arts and Sciences'.

• In May 2001, Jeanette Krause Bauer was awarded the U. of Cincinnati McMicken Excellence Award. Since coming to Cincinnati, she has increased, by six times, the number of structures determined annually by the UC facility. Jeanette has organized the 59th Pittsburgh Diffraction conference, and she will serve as the Program Chair of the ACA 2003 National Meeting.

• Inst. of Medicine (IOM), part of the National Academies elects new Member Gregory A. Petsko, Gyula & Katica Tauber Prof. of Biochemistry & Chemistry, and director, Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center, Brandeis U., Waltham, MA.

Wade Adams, former chief scientist at the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Dayton, OH, became the new director of the Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology (CNST) at Rice U. in January.