Call for nominations for the thirteenth Ewald Prize

[Ewald Prize]

The IUCr invites your nominations for the Ewald Prize for outstanding contributions to the science of crystallography. The Prize is named after Paul P. Ewald, in recognition of his significant contributions to the foundations of crystallography and to the founding of the IUCr. Professor Ewald was the President of the Provisional International Crystallographic Committee from 1946 to 1948, the first editor of the IUCr journal Acta Crystallographica from 1948 to 1959 and the President of the IUCr from 1960 to 1963.

The Prize is presented once every three years during the triennial International Congresses of Crystallography and consists of a medal, a certificate and a financial award. The recipients to date are as follows:

Year Place Recipient(s)
1987 Perth, Australia Professor J. M. Cowley and Dr A. F. Moodie
1990 Bordeaux, France Professor B. K. Vainshtein
1993 Beijing, China Professor N. Kato
1996 Seattle, WA, USA Professor M. G. Rossmann
1999 Glasgow, UK Professor G. N. Ramachandran
2002 Geneva, Switzerland Professor M. M. Woolfson
2005 Florence, Italy Professor P. Coppens
2008 Osaka, Japan Dr D. Sayre
2011 Madrid, Spain Professor E. Dodson, Professor C. Giacovazzo and Professor G. M. Sheldrick
2014 Montreal, Canada Professor A. Janner and Professor T. W. J. M. Janssen
2017 Hyderabad, India Professor T. L. Blundell
2020 Prague, Czech Republic Dr Olga Kennard, OBE FRS

The thirteenth Prize, for which nominations are now being invited, will be presented at the Melbourne Congress in August 2023.

Scientists who have made contributions of exceptional distinction to the science of crystallography are eligible for the Prize, irrespective of gender, nationality, age or experience. The Selection Committee will give careful attention to the nominations of outstanding scientists who have not yet won a Nobel Prize. Either an exceptionally distinguished scientific career or a major scientific accomplishment may be recognised. Current members of the Selection Committee and the President of the IUCr are not eligible. No restrictions are placed on the time or the means of publication of the nominee's contributions. The prize may be shared by more than one contributor, but no more than three, to the same scientific achievement. 

Nominations for the thirteenth Ewald Prize should be submitted electronically using the Ewald Prize Nomination Form to the IUCr Executive Secretary at The closing date for nominations is 31 August 2022.

18 March 2022

Copyright © - All Rights Reserved - International Union of Crystallography

The permanent URL for this article is