Bookmark and Share
[High-pressure logo]

Pohang, South Korea, September 2016

[Attendees] The Workshop excursion to the PAL site.

The 14th IUCr Commission on High Pressure (CHP) Workshop was held at the Pohang Advanced Laboratory (PAL) in South Korea, in Sept 2016. The Organizing Committee was chaired by Yongjae Lee (Yonsei U., Seoul). The Workshop focused on recent advances in high-pressure techniques. Lectures and posters covered structural phase transitions and their kinetics, new materials synthesis, Earth and planetary science, soft and biological matter, physical and chemical properties, theory and computation, and techniques for high-pressure studies at synchrotron, neutron and laboratory-based facilities. The workshop was attended by 120 participants from 19 countries.

The workshop started with a welcoming speech by Kibong Lee (Director of PAL). Plenary Talks were given by Ho-Kwang Mao (Director of HPSTAR, China) on Pressure and X-Radiation, Chi-Chang Kao (Director of SLAC, National Accelerator Laboratory, USA) on The Potential of X-ray Free-Electron Laser for High-Pressure Research and by Takehiko Yagi (U. of Tokyo, Japan) on Synchrotron Facilities and High-Pressure Science in Japan.

Special sessions were focused on PAL and High-Pressure Research in Korea. Before the excursion to the PLS-II and PALXFEL facilities, J.-Y. Kim (PAL) described the current status of PLS-II beamlines, and an introduction to PAL-XFEL was given by its Director, I. S. Ko. High-Pressure Research in Korea was reviewed by Y.-H. Kim (Gyeongsang National U.), and current high-pressure research and activity were reviewed by researchers from Korea: Y.-H. Ko (Agency for Defense Development, Korea), Research on materials under high pressure or temperature; S. K. Lee (Seoul National U.), Glasses and melts under compression and extreme confinement; K. H. Kim (Seoul National U.), Critical behavior in quasi-one-dimensional organic conductors as investigated by a cubic anvil cell up to 8.5 GPa; J. Kim (Hanyang U.), HYU-HPSTAR-CIS High-Pressure Research Center; G. W. Lee (KRISS), Study of high pressure and high temperature in KRISS; Y. Lee (Yonsei U.), Construction of Max-X (Matter in eXtreme conditions X-ray) beamline at Pohang Accelerator Laboratory.

Six young scientists received IUCr awards and presented short talks: T. Pakornchote (Chulalongkorn U. Thailand), Role of peculiar d-spacing variations of scandium trihydride under high pressure using ab initio method; J. Kim (U. Texas, Austin), High-pressure effects of few- and monolayer MoWS2 van der Waals alloy; C. Childs (UNLV, USA), Laser annealing after a kinetically hindered phase transition in the pyrochlore La2Sn2O7: a method for true structure determination; S. K. Singh (Aryabhatta Group of Institutes, India), High-pressure phase transition properties of lutetium monopnictide: a DFT study; K. Kotmool (Mahidol Wittayanusorn School, Thailand), Superhard semiconducting phase of osmium tetraboride stabilizing at 11 GPa; I Danilov (Institute for High-Pressure Physics, RAS, Russia), Striking dependence of the properties of glassy propylene carbonate on the P-T way of synthesis.

Young scientist poster awards went to H. Hwang (Yonsei U.), Water insertion in kaolinite under moderate pressure and temperature; E. J. Kim (Seoul National U. ), Effect of pressure on the structural changes of silicate network of fluid-bearing silicate melts: insights from multi-anvil press and multi-nuclear solid-state NMR; J. Im (Yonsei U.), High-pressure chemistry of MIL-47(V) and ZIF-8 in different pressure-transmitting media; X. Liu (U. of Edinburgh), High-pressure crystallization of biodiesel.

Meetings of the CHP, chaired by A. Katrusiak, featured discussions of diffraction-data deposition (K. Dziubek), future workshops, historical reviews, and rules regarding the participation of CHP members in the workshops and elections.

The Workshop was sponsored by a number of institutions, including YONSEI-SLAC-USC Global Research Laboratory and HYU-HPSTAR-CIS High-Pressure Center, funded by the Korean Ministry of Science, ICT, and Planning (MSIP) and the BK21Plus Institute at Yonsei U., funded by the Korean Ministry of Education. Especially the support from the IUCr, HPSTAR and PAL is gratefully acknowledged.

Yongjae Lee, Chair of the Organizing Committee, and Andrzej Katrusiak, Chair of the IUCr CHP and Program Committee