Bookmark and Share

US National Medal of Science to Karle and Rich

US Vice President Al Gore, Isabella Karle, and US President Bill Clinton.

Two crystallographers were among the eight winners of the 1995 National Medal of Science, the highest honor in science granted by the US government. Isabella Karle, head of the Naval Research Lab.'s X-ray diffraction section, was honored for her contributions to the development of methods of structure determination. Alexander Rich, Professor of Biophysics at Massachusens Institute of Technology, was honored for his X-ray studies illuminating the architecture of biomolecules ranging from collagen to left-handed Z-DNA.